To gain a deeper understanding of anime’s impact on Tess, I asked her┬áthe following questions:

  • What’s your favorite anime?
  • Why did you become involved with Anime Club?
  • What are your hopes/goals for the club?
  • How has being involved with the Club affected you?

Here are Tess’ responses:

Favorite anime: Tokyo ghoul – I really enjoy darker shows so with tokyo ghoul where this one college student is thrown into chaos and now has to learn to survive not as a human but as a flesh eating creature really got me interested. I also liked seeing Kaneki Ken’s progression throughout the show. He didnt want to be catagorized as a ghoul but he slowly realized that there were other ghouls and humans willing to accept him as a friend and family…I guess for me it just ties into what I wish society could be in a sick twisted way. I wish people in the world could just accept each other and not discriminate or hate based on physical characteristics or heritage/ religion/ sexuality etc.

Why i joined anime club: I wanted to be around other people with the same interests as me; joining a club where people would easily voice that they liked something similar to me really drew me in.

┬áHopes for the [anime] club: I hope more people join but that others who had a negative connotation of what anime was begin to notice that it is just like any other cartoon shown on american television; just created in a different country with a different art style. It isnt just weird teens and college students being “otakus”.

How did the club help me: I feel like I am more comfortable starting a conversation with strangers who I have never met before. Being infront of a whole club even if it only consists of 15 people or so has boosted my confidence in myself and allowed me to practice public speaking

Listen to Tess talk about anime and other topics by clicking on these links:

Episode One – https://hopeisthethingblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/17/blog-post-title/

Episode Two- https://hopeisthethingblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/17/blog-post-title-2/

 

Photo courtesy of Tess

